Juniors Capture Connacht Junior Cup   25/05/2015

Mervue Utd 2-1 Athenry (Connacht Junior Cup Final)

The club's Junior team captured the Connacht Junior Cup for the first time in ten years after a nail biting 2-1 win over Athenry in Sunday afternoon's final at Eamonn Deacy Park.

After a tense opening quarter were little chances were created Mervue opened the scoring just before the half hour mark. Alex Lee swung in a corner from the left and Robert Connolly was on hand to steer the ball into the Athenry net for 1-0 on 24 minutes.

That lead was doubled ten minutes later as Stephen Cunningham and Mike Tierney set up Stephen Larkin as he ran onto Cunningham's excellent through ball to round Andrew Walsh and smash the ball into the empty net to give Mervue a 2-0 interval advantage.

Connolly almost made it 3-0 five minutes before the break but he couldn't get the vital touch on an excellent Alex Lee ball to the the back post.

Athenry in fairness came out a very determined side in the second period and began to see a lot more possession but some wonderful defending from man of the match Robert Connolly, Eric Browne, Keith McHugh and Tommy Walsh ensured Mervue stayed two in front until late in the game.

Colm O'Donovan pulled a goal back with seven minutes remaining as he fired in of the post from just outside the box to set up a nervous closing few minutes for Mervue supporters. 

But they held on as a sixth Connacht Junior Cup title was secured and the cup is back in Fahy's Field after a long ten year absence. 

Well done to Ger McGrath, Stephen Lally and their squad on bring the provincial title back to Fahy’s Field. There was great celebrations in the Trappers In, sponsors of the team, after Sunday’s win.

Mervue Utd; Peter Healy; Robert Connolly, Eric Browne, Tommy Walsh, Keith McHugh (Aaron Finnerty 72); Alex Lee, Simon Walsh (Dara Ryan 83), Derek McWalter, Mike Tierney; Stephen Cunningham (Luke Deacy 65),Stephen Larkin. Subs: Evan Browne, Eoin Concannon, Barry Moran, Darragh Kelly

AthenryAndrew Walsh; Anthony Connolly, Paddy Quinn, Packie Byrne, Brian Carrigg; Dan Cunningham (Seamie Crowe 73), Jamie O'Driscoll, Alan Harty, Gary Forde (Declan Cullen 73); Colm O'Donovan, Cathal Fahy.

Referee: Chris Campbell



Club App


Pitch Booking



Club Membership