U-16 B's Suffer First Defeat   18/11/2014

Cregmore/Claregalway FC 1-0 Mervue Utd B

Mervue Utd U-16 B’s lost their unbeaten record against a good Cregmore team but stay remain top of the table in Division Two. 

Mervue played well on a very bumpy pitch and were unlucky to not get at least a draw. Mervue played much better than their last outing and were very solid through out the game only conceding 4 chances. They started off well and were unlucky not to take the lead when an excellent Adam Healy free kick was headed on by Jordan Devery for Dems Henok to volley over the bar. An excellent move involving  Daniel Healy, Jordan Devery and William Ikemna-Nwosa saw Jayden O’Malley put Adam Healy through and he put over lapping full back Daniel Corbett through and he narrowly missed with a good shot. Another good move involving Padraig Cooney and Alex Schmidt saw the Cregmore keeper pull off a fine save from Patrick Oyelola. The rebound fell to Adam Healy who curled a great effort towards the top corner only for the keeper to pull off another great save. Mervue keeper Dylan Gallagher pulled off a great save towards the end of the first half.

Cregmore started the second half well and took the lead after sloppy Mervue defending. Mervue dominated the rest of the game and Jayden O’Malley had a shot cleared off the line and Patrick Oyelola had the rebound cleared as well. Daniel Healy came close with 2 headers from Adam Healy delivery’s. Adam Healy saw a superb 30 yard free kick come off the cross bar. Mervue also had a goal disallowed for a push in the back. Aaron Conneely also had a shot saved after good work from Ryan Meja and Bryan Healy.  Cregmore threatened on the break but good tackling from Rhys Hopcroft and Jordan Devery kept them at bay. A disappointing result for Mervue who had many clear cut chances but well done to Cregmore.

Mervue Utd Squad

Goalkeeper: Dylan Gallagher

Defenders: Bryan Healy, Padraig Cooney, Daniel Healy, Jordan Devery, Daniel Corbett, James Cahill, Rhys Hopcroft

Midfielders: Dems Henok, Patrick Oyelola, William Ikemna-Nwosa, Cian Dunleavy, Mark Schmidt

Forwards: Adam Healy, Aaron Connelly, Alex Schmidt, Ryan Meja, Jayden O’ Malley



Club App


Pitch Booking



Club Membership