U18's FAI Youth Cup Champions   29/04/2019

U18 Squad FAI Youth Cup Champions

Mervue Utd’s U-18 squad were crowned All Ireland Champions after an impressive performance saw them record a convincing 4-0 win over Dublin side, Stella Maris FC, in last Sunday’s FAI Youth Cup final played at Eamonn Deacy Park. 

Right from the kick-off they were on top as both Ryan Gallagher and Jake Begley came close to opening the scoring in the opening minutes of the game before they made the break through with Gallagher seeing his effort well saved by Stella Maris goalkeeper Kayleum Rice, while Begley's effort from inside the box was deflected over the crossbar for a corner. 

Two goals in a four minute spell set them on their way as first Ryan Gallagher finished a Mikey Devaney cross from the right to the net for 1-0 on 16 minutes. Jake Begley doubled the advantage four minutes later as he capitalized on some poor defending to make it 2-0 and David Sheridan almost made it 3-0 just before the break as his shot struck a post. 

The second half proved to be a more evenly contested affair until the final quarter as Mervue finished the game strongly to add two more goals. Ryan Gallagher collected a Tony Loye ball and turned in the box and fired in of the far post for 3-0 and his second goal of the game. With six minutes remaing Ethan Connolly completed the scoring as he fired home following a corner. 

After the game captain Mark Melody collected the FAI Youth Cup from Jim McConnell, Chairman of FAI Domestic Committee, to the delight of the huge home support. Irish U-18 International manager Andy Reid awarded the Man of the Match Award to two goal hero, Ryan Gallagher. Well done done to Ollie Neary, Damien Brennan, Blazej Wojacki and their squad on a excellent achievement claiming the club’s first ever FAI Youth cup title.

This weekend they will look to add the Connacht Youth Cup for an historic cup double as they face Mayo side, Manulla FC, in the provincial final in Sligo on Sunday afternoon with kick-off at 2 pm.

Mervue Utd: Patrick Martyn (David Garvali 85); Charlie Fillipe (Jack Rooney 85), James McDonnell (Torin Finnerty 85), Ethan Connolly, Mark Melody (C); Mikey Devaney, David Sheridan (Danny Kemp 79), Lewis Weraru, Tony Loye (Campbell Idemudia 85); Ryan Gallagher, Jake Begley. 

Pitch Booking


Club Membership