Awards Night Winners 2016   27/05/2016

Club Awards Night 2016

Mervue Utd held their end of season Race Night, Barbeque and Adult Awards night last Saturday in the club's pub sponsor the Trappers Inn. It has been another hugely successful season (and it's not over yet) on the pitch with eight trophies won to date at boys and girls underage including this season's U-16 Connacht Cup.

The Hall of Fame award was presented to long time club member Michael “Mitch” Grealish who has been arguably one of the best goalkeepers ever to play with the club and involved in the club for many years as a player, a coach and a committee member. Mitchy was a very deserving and popular winner of the award on the night. 

The Club Person of the Year was awarded to current club director, Nicky Folan, who has also been involved with the club for many years. Nicky was also a very deserving and popular winner and the award was recognition for all the great work he does on behalf of the club on social media, club fundraising and supporting of all club sides. 

The Ladies Award was awarded jointly to both Karen Connolly and Lorraine Corcoran who were also a very deserving and popular winners due to their great work on club match days with all the various clubs sides and coaching of girls underage teams.

The Junior A Player of the year award went to a surprised Dara Ryan, while the Junior B Player of the Year award went to the popular Mikey Fox, who revealed he had voted for himself! 

The Airtricity League U-17 Award was presented to the very exciting Aaron Connolly, who has represented Ireland with both the U-16 and U-17 International teams over the past season.

The Youth team Player of the Year went to Cian Gallagher who has also featured a number of times for the junior side over the season, while the U-18 A Most Improved Player award went to Dara Leavy. 

The U18 B team Player of the Year went to Jordan Devery, while the Most Improved Player award went to Padraig Cooney.

2016 Awards Winners

Hall of Fame Award - Michael "Mitchy" Grealish

Club Person of the Year - Nicky "Niko" Folan

Junior A Player of the Year - Dara Ryan

Junior B Player of the Year - Mikey Fox

U18 A Player of the Year - Cian Gallagher

U18 A Most Improved Player - Dara Leavy 

U18 B Player of the Year - Jordan Devery

U18 B Most Improved Player - Padraig Cooney

U17 Airtricity League Player of the Year - Aaron Connolly 



Club App


Pitch Booking



Club Membership